Gluten-Free Dairy

Karen Bakies RD LD FAND is a registered dietitian and is the Nutrition Affairs Director for the American Dairy Association Mideast. A scientist at heart, she seeks out quality nutrition research to share with others in a profession she is passionate about. In a recent American Dairy Association Mideast article, Karen answers the question: Does Gluten-Free Mean No Dairy?  The below article was republished with the permission of the American Dairy Association Mideast.

You don’t have to give up your favorite dairy foods to go gluten-free! Most individuals following a gluten-free diet can safely enjoy dairy.

Gluten is a protein composite found in grains such as wheat, barley, rye and triticale (a cross between wheat and rye). From a medical standpoint, a gluten-free diet is primarily used to treat celiac disease.

When people with celiac disease eat foods containing gluten, it causes inflammation in their small intestines. Eating a 100% gluten-free diet helps people with celiac disease control this issue, prevent symptoms and disease-related complications.

Some people who don’t have celiac disease may have similar symptoms when they eat gluten, which is called non-celiac gluten sensitivity, and they may also benefit from a gluten-free diet.

The good news is that most dairy foods are naturally gluten-free!

The good news is that most dairy foods are naturally gluten-free! Keeping dairy foods in the diet assures that good sources of calcium, vitamin D and protein are maintained for overall good health.

Dairy foods such milk, yogurt and cheese can add flavor to gluten-free foods, including pasta, rice, granola, cereal and breads. Single-serve dairy foods — think string cheese, yogurt and yogurt-based smoothies — are easy and nutritious gluten-free snacks.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Add a comment